A mí me gusta bailar

This finals season seems to have been particularly brutal for everyone. At least according to the number of Facebook statuses relating to the topic. As I finally finished my last, and most excruciating, final of December this evening (I have one in January #morestudyabroadproblems) — I think its time for a victory dance.

 

You already know my favorite Madrid song, “Danza Kuduro,” so I decided to ask my dormmates for their favorites. Well, I was going to ask them, but when I got home they were literally already dancing around my room in their final Madrid retail purchases. Ali had “Vamos a Los Levels” playing, a remix of “Vamos a La Playa” and Avicii’s “Levels” that’s been popular in Madrid’s discotecas (no really, that’s what clubs are called here.)

 

Unfortunately the first of my floormates, Margo, left this morning. It’s all ending so quickly! But if she were here, I guarantee this would have been her choice: “Loca People” by Sak Noel. (You have to click and verify your age. :()

Simone took a minute to come up with an answer… then replied “The WOOOOSH song!” She was referring to Rihanna’s “We Found Love“: at approximately 01:58, a wooosh of air streams out of the ceiling of Kapital Madrid. This song is huge no matter where in the world you are.

 

In case you were wondering about the Cristiano Ronaldo video above; no, I haven’t become a Real Madrid fan. But the rest of Madrid can’t get enough of the Portuguese song that inspired his victory routine.

One night Jamie showed us this song, claiming it was blowing up. But I wasn’t convinced–until I heard it at full volume, at every bar and club we went to that weekend. She was right! It and the little routine are addicting when a room full is singing along.

 

So if you’re still studying, GOOD LUCK! You’ll survive, I promise. To those who are done, hope you are all dancing around your rooms to these Madrid favorites!  — Annie

Leave a Reply

