The 90s Revived

I’ll be the first to say that, for the most part, I love the years in which I was born. Who could complain about never having to live without the wonders of television, food delivery, and cell phones? But I’ll admit that there are times when I wish I could have been born earlier so that I could’ve enjoyed the 90s more. While I was busy rocking my floral-dress-upon-floral-leggings ensembles (oh trust me, I did), I do look back sometimes and wish I’d been able to better appreciate some of the amazing pop culture of the 90s: the beginnings of bands I love like Matchbox Twenty, Collective Soul, Savage Garden, Beck (and yes, I’ll admit to loving Hanson and some early Britney Spears), the heyday of Kate Moss, some of Will Ferrell’s prime years on Saturday Night Live. I also wish I’d gotten to partake in some of the amazing fashion that was going on at the time (especially when I watch Clueless)

Kate Moss 1993 for Calvin Klein

"Clueless", 1995

Gwen Stefani with her band "No Doubt"

And for some 90s tunes, who could resist Oasis:

Thankfully for those of us (including me) who are trying to relive the fashions of our youth, Free People’s new December Lookbooks is all about looking back to the 90s for style inspiration, with faded jeans tucked into combat boots, beanies, faded thermals and overalls. While I don’t see any of my super-stylish light-up Sketcher velcro kicks (what ever happened to those?), I can’t wait to try out some of the pieces they’ve chosen!

(all images via the Free People website)

Have a safe and relaxing break everyone!

-Christine

Leave a Reply

