New Year’s Eve Music: 2011 Top Hit Mash-Ups

It’s that time of year again. DJ Earworm has released his newest mash-up of the year’s hit songs, but he’s not the only one. The idea has become vastly popular, so I decided to sort through this year’s bunch and now I ask you: which 2011 mash-ups will you be playing this New Year’s Eve?

We have to start off with DJ Earworm. Though “United State of Pop 2009” is still my favorite, I think 2011’s version definitely better than the letdown of 2010.

Mashup-Germany’s “Top of the Pops 2011” has also gained a lot of attention this month. DJ Earworm meshes lyrics together in an extremely talented and entertaining way, but I actually prefer Mashup-Germany’s transitions. It feels more like a continuous song, but to each his own. Which do you prefer?

Although few (if any) of the songs used in this mash-up were from 2011, this video has risen to fame in 2011 for mashing nearly 40 songs live. I couldn’t leave it out.

As a Boston native spending New Year’s Eve in Florida, this Summer 2011 mash-up still seems fitting. It blends much longer sections of songs than the first couple videos, but has a fun dance-party feel and is perfect for reminiscing about these summer hits.

To top off the list, a friend-of-a-friend made this, and I was pretty impressed. Though I don’t love that most of the mix has the same background track, I was inspired that someone my age who’s only been releasing his own mash-ups since April produced this.

Happy New Year everyone! Let these mash-ups be a fond memory of 2011’s music, and I look forward to seeing what 2012 has in store for us! See you back at BC… –Annie

Leave a Reply

