Frilly Things

Yesterday, as I sat in my room procrastinating on Pinterest (per usual), I noticed a pattern in the fashion shots and apparel that I like to “pin.”  They all have a lot of really intricate details.  From beading to embroidery, lace, rhinestones, colors, patterns, fabrics, and so on, every single photo had some detail or another that made it pop.  As I thought more about it, I realized that this is how I like to style my own outfits too.  I try to have at least one piece in each outfit have some detail that makes it stand out from the others, making the outfit just a little more special.

With Spring coming up, I keep picturing all the different things I can wear, and I keep coming back to lace and eyelet.  What can I say, I like frilly things!  They are both so delicate, but command a certain presence that not many other fabrics can.  They are classically beautiful, but can be worn with almost anything.  Both are so versatile that they can be edgy, natural, preppy, modern, and romantic, depending on what you put with them.

perfect for the evening, a simple, but romantic lace dress looks great when belted and paired with a black clutch

the lace detailing on these shorts keeps them effortless and refined

the lace shirt paired with the blazer and necklace is perfect for the daytime. swap the shorts for a pair of jeans or black leggings, and it's perfect for nighttime too!

a lace crop top with shorts or jeans is casual and natural

a little bit more formal, this eyelet dress looks classic, elegant and effortless

Lace and eyelet are feminine, flattering, and easy.  They can be dressed up or down and always look pretty.  I’m getting so excited just thinking about all the ways I’m going to incorporate them into my Spring wardrobe!!

In the mean time, I’m going to keep searching for inspiration and pinning everything I find on my Pearls & Lace Pinterest board and pretend that it’s warm out so I can start wearing them…

xoxo,

Caitlin

Photo Sources:

http://inspired-design.tumblr.com/post/6894849722

http://ohthelovelythings.blogspot.com/2011/09/happy-friday.html

http://www.tumblr.com/reblog/16543632244/Dbaxb83t?redirect_to=%252Fdashboard%252F32%252F16544017502%253Flite

http://www.kaboodle.com/reviews/butterfly-lace-crop-top

http://www.sunnysummerdresses.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/Banana-Republic-Aliana-Eyelet-Racerback-Dress.jpg?cda6c1

One thought on “Frilly Things

Leave a Reply

