Degas and the Nude

During our first meeting of the new semester, the BCxRR girls were brainstorming ideas that could help bring more of Boston to the BC campus. One idea that came to the table was an arts and culture feature, something that could include visits to museums, plays, performances – anything that would be an atypical activity for a typical college student. In the spirit of bringing more “culture” to BC, Christine and I mentioned we were planning on visiting the Degas exhibit at the MFA for an art history class and perhaps we could write a review of the exhibit. Then, one of the girls thought it would be a cool idea to maybe put a little bit of a RR twist on a review, and give examples of painting-inspired outfits. I though this was a brilliant idea, but Christine pointed a slight problem: it might be a little hard to come up with fashion ideas from an exhibit centered around nude painting. However, after seeing the exhibit I decided that I could do a little bit of both – write a review and give some art-inspired fashion advise.

I thought that the exhibit was absolutely fascinating. The sheer number of paints, sketches and sculptures alone was incredible. The exhibit also included other works from artists, such as “The Death of Sardanapulus” by Eugene Delacroix and Auguste Rodin’s sculpture entitled “Danaid.” The way Degas plays with light and color in his paintings such as “Young Spartans exercising and “Nudes Bathing” is truly remarkable and his sketches of his study in brothels is very compelling. The variety subject matter Degas examines is interesting and thought-provoking, and the color palate he utilizes is very fresh and energetic.

My favorite piece, the “Spartans,” also gave me an idea for great spring outfit, I think this would be perfect to pack for a trip to someplace warm.  (I know it might be a little early to start thinking about spring break, but the weather has been very deceiving recently and I thought I would indulge myself.)

Degas, Young Spartans Exercising, 1860

I really loved the greens in the foreground of this painting along with the splash of light blue in the female spartan’s skirt. I found a maxi dress to pair with nude pumps, which I think reflect the color scheme perfectly.

Rachel Pally Talamdge Dress

Sam Edelman Platform Sandals

I would encourage anybody and everybody to visit this exhibit. Student admission to both the museum and exhibit are free. Unfortunately, the exhibit closes at the end of this week. So, hurry up! Hop on the green line and get to the MFA!

You can find out more about the exhibit here: http://www.mfa.org/exhibitions/degas-and-nude

XO Lindley

Leave a Reply

