Faith, Trust and Pixie Dust

Collars and I have a complex relationship. We didn’t exactly have a singular falling out, it was more just a series of oppressions over the course of thirteen years, during which, under my various school uniforms, I was forced to don a shirt with a collar five days a week. When I graduated from high school, I gave away all of my polos and button downs and vowed that in college I would never wear another collared shirt unless forced. Well, I’m forced to recant my bold statement, because, against my will, I’ve fallen in love. I’ve resisted with all my heart, but the insidious pull of the Peter Pan collar has drawn me in and it’s not letting me go. It’s girlie and retro, and great as an accessory, as a layering piece, or beautiful just on its own. Look at these pictures and I dare you not to drool.

Nasty Gal "Mary Kate Floral"

Whistles' Chambray Shirt

ASOS Cotton Lace Blouse With Double Collar

Boutique By Jaeger Star Print Blouse

Free People "Peter Pan Lace Top"

Free People "Peter Pan Babydoll Top"

Free People "Peter Pan Drapey Jersey Top"

Zara "Dress with Strass Collar"

Zara "Blouse with Applique and Lace"

If you like the idea of a Peter Pan collar but hate buttoning up, check out this DIY from A Pair and a Spare http://www.harpersbazaar.com.au/fashion/style-network/a-pair-a-spare-diy-chain-bow-necklace.htm. It seems pretty simple if you have the right equipment  and would look great over a plain crewneck shirt or dress.

Well, happy shopping!

-Christine

Leave a Reply

